top of page

What Does A Scientist Look Like? Changing Perceptions in Early Education


Photo credit to Dr. Joe Gaston @Gaston_Teach

Little did I know, when we started the NEST, how powerful the impact would be on student perceptions of what a scientist is, or looks like. Initially, the goal was to coach teachers in the new science standards adopted by our state, as well as give young students the opportunity to experience hands-on, inquiry based instruction. In addition, I wanted to take students' natural curiosity of the world around them and have them fall in love with science. I wanted to dig deep and discover the misconceptions that occur at that developmental age, so I could improve my own instruction.

Over the last two years, I have observed an unintended, but marvelous consequence. Students are not only falling in love with science, but are seeing themselves as scientists! Their perception of me is the same. I am not only the science teacher, but they consider me a scientist as well (and correctly so)!

At a recent open house, I had more than one parent approach me in gratitude of the school for having a fully operating science lab for early learners. One particular set of parents, told me that their daughter no longer wanted to be a police officer, like their dad, but wanted to be a scientist! SCORE!

Upon reflection, I can see that much of this was accomplished, not only by providing the experiences, but by how I perceive my students. As they work in the NEST, I treat them like scientists. I use the terminology of science practices, and encourage them to use language of science discourse. We practice science safety with science tools. We use goggles, lab coats, and hard hats, not for dress up, but for real.

Every single day, a student will visit the NEST to tell about a new scientific interest, bring me a rock, or a small animal they have found, or share that they have joined a science book club. They are looking at the stars and finding Orion and the Big Dipper. They are searching opportunities for growth. They are doing these things on their own.

So what DOES a scientist look like? Just look in the mirror!

bottom of page